Home of Non-League Betting|Tuesday, October 17, 2017
You are here: Home » Non-League News

Non-League News

Read the latest breaking Non-League football news headlines on Non-League Bets, covering the The Vanarama National League, Evo-Stik Northern Premier League, Calor Southern Football League and the Ryman Isthmian League. Updated daily with the latest news stories, results, fixtures and league tables.

We’ve previewed the key clashes and picked out some bets for the Vanarama National League games on Saturday 7th October 2017 as the clubs get set to play their … Full article

It’s the final round of National League games for September so we’ve picked out some of the key battles and taken a look at the best betting options this …

The National League is back following a midweek break with all of the sides refreshed and ready to go! We’ve taken a look at some possible bets from Saturday’s …

With a number of key Vanarama National League games taking place we cover the fixtures with an in-depth preview of the games including betting odds and stats. Full article

Get ahead of the game this weekend with our Vanarama National League North betting preview for Saturday 7th November 2015.

West Bromwich Albion Keeper Ethan Ross has joined National League North team Worcester City in a months long loan deal.

Preview of the four Vanarama National League South games taking place this weekend, Saturday 24th October 2015. Full article

National League side side Gosport Borough have signed 33-year-old former Portsmouth frontman Rowan Vine.

The Vanarama National League South round-up for games played on Saturday 29th August 2015.

One of the downsides to being a non-league fan is the number of games being called off, there are many unusual and downright bizarre things that can stop a … Full article

Hereford United’s playing record for the current season is expunged with immediate effect by the Southern League.

Southern League Premier side St Neots Town have announced that David Batch has been appointed as the new first-team manager.

Managerial duo Anthony Johnson and Bernard Morley have resigned from and coach Glenn Moses Ramsbottom United to take up jobs at Evo-Stik Division One North side Salford City. Full article

Goalkeeper Ben Hinchliffe was the hero as AFC Fylde won the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Premier Division play-off final at Kellamergh Park.

Marine have announced the departure of manager Phil Brazier by mutual consent following a meeting with chairman Paul Leary and vice-chairman Dave McMillan.

Player movements at The Frost Financial Stadium recently has seen two players joining and another two heading off at Canvey Island. Full article

Craig Edwards has added two new players to his Billericay Town side with Mason Bloomfield and Cliff Akurang joining the Isthmian Premier side.

Farnborough have registered Jordan Wynter on a month loan deal from National league side Cheltenham Town.

Non League Football

The term Non-League refers football divisions and clubs in England who don’t belonged to The Football League, they are therefore known as non-League.

Before 1987 automatic promotion and relegation between the divisions of non-League football and The Football League did not exist. At the end of each season the lowest clubs in The Football League needed to apply for re-election into the League, however this in most cases turned out to be a formality. This system ensured that membership of the Football League remained relatively the same, giving non-League clubs nearly no likelihood of joining.

Major change were introduced in 1987 with automatic promotion and relegation of just one football club between The Football League and the top level of the non-League pyramid (The National League), subject to the eligible teams meeting the desired facility and financial standards. Two teams from the National League Premier (the champions and play-off winners) have been promoted since 2003, the bottom two sides in the football league lose their League status with relegation into non league football.

Non-league clubs take their place in the FA Cup qualifying rounds in the hope of progressing and meeting opposition from the league. The sole team to have won the competition as a non-League team since the Football League started are Tottenham Hotspur (then playing in the Southern League), winning the FA Cup in 1901.

The Football Association Challenge Trophy, commonly known as FA Trophy was introduced in 1969 to cater for non-league clubs. Eligibility rules have been modified over the years, however since 2008 the Trophy has been open to clubs playing at Steps 1–4 in the National League System, this covers divisions from The National League, The Northern Premier League, Southern League and The Isthmian League.